Five new commissioners join the ICHR Board of Commissioners

Ramallah - Five new commissioners joined the Board of Commissioners of the Independent Commission for Human Rights (ICHR). Ensuring a transparent selection, the new commissioners were selected by an independent advisory committee. An advertisement for membership on the ICHR Board of Commissioners was published in local newspapers. Members of the committee included the Chairman of the Palestinian Bar Association, former Chairman of the High Judicial Council, representatives of civil society organisations, members of the Palestinian Legislative Council, academics and former ICHR commissioners.

Dr. Ammar Dwaik, ICHR Director General, asserted that the ICHR, in its capacity as the Palestinian national human rights institution, has sought to consolidate the principle of transparency, ensuring democratic and impartial membership on its Board of Commissioners. The process is designed to breathe new life into the Board by selecting young commissioners who are capable of delivering on the ICHR mission. The selection process was informed by the ICHR Bylaw and Principles relating to the Status of National Institutions (The Paris Principles). Dr. Dwaik trusted that the new commissioners would be an added value to the ICHR work, mission and goals.

The new commissioners are Mr. Shawqi al-Iyaseh, a lawyer and former minister; Mr. Issam Arouri, human rights activist and Director of the Jerusalem Legal Aid and Human Rights Center (JLAC); Mr. Ziyad Amr, human rights activist and disability rights advocate; Dr. Assem Khalil, professor of law at Birzeit University; and Ms. Hamah Zeidan, transparency and good governance advocate.

The ICHR is a constitutional body established by a presidential decree. The ICHR Board of Commissioners represents Palestinians in Palestine, the Diaspora and Palestinian territory occupied in 1948. The Board includes various intellectual currents and trends and reflects a balanced gender representation. The Board supervises the ICHR functions, appoints the ICHR Director General, and approves the ICHR Strategic Plan and reports, including the ICHR Annual Report.